How to Clean Your Makeup Brushes

I had a request to tell you how to clean your makeup brushes properly so I’m going to let you know how. I needed to clean my brushes anyways so I thought I might as well show you guys how. I’m going to do my photos with a few different brushes so you can see how it goes; the fan brush, the mini dome brush and the powder brush.

These are the brushes I'm going to be going over with you today.

First of all you’re going to wash your brushes in cold water. This is so that your makeup won’t stain your lighter bristled brushes. Treat your brushes with respect, don’t use your antibacterial hand soap on them, use your prized shampoo. That’s right, pull out your Paul Mitchell or Matrix and use it on your brushes.

Put a small dab of shampoo on the palm of your hand and gentle massage the brush into it in a circular or figure eight pattern. Don’t mash into your hands because the bristles will fray, bend, break, and shoot all over the place and you’ll never get it to look nice again. rinse the bristles free of shampoo still using cold water.

Just use a small dab of shampoo

Gently massage the bristles into your hand until you see no more pigment coming out.

When your brush is completely rinsed gently form the shape of the brush; try and bring all the bristles in to a nice clean uniform shape.

Try to get them as close to back to normal as possible while being gentle with the bristles.

Now you want your brushes to dry. This will take around half an hour so it’s best to do it on your day off or after you’re done your makeup application. Lay your brushes out with the bristles facing downward. Prop up the handle. I prefer to do this by rolling a portion of a hand towel and leaving half of it unrolled. You can prop the handle of the brush up on the roll and leave the bristles on the flat part. This is important – if you lay the brushes flat or prop them up backwards the water will run into the furrow of the brush (the part that holds the bristles to the handle) and will over time cause the bristles to fray backwards and the furrow to separate from the handle OR the bristles to fall out.

Lay your brushes to dry for about half an hour to forty-five minutes

Leave your brushes to try and voila, clean brushes.

Ideally you should clean your brushes every use, especially a liquid foundation brush or concealer brush – anything that is used to apply a liquid. Those I strongly recommend that you clean each use because they hold a strong likely-hood to harbor bacteria. As for your regular dry application brushes I would suggest that you wash them once a week. If you feel you’d like to clean your brushes daily but just don’t have the time there are a few options for you.

First we have our Jane Iredale product, you know how much I love them. Jane Iredale has a botanical brush cleaner that uses quick-drying alcohol, witch hazel and grapefruit which gives is a fresh and wonderful smell. I find that when I spray my brushes with it I can smell it on them for around 4 days. Just spritz your brush and wipe off on a paper towel and you’ll see the pigment come out right away. If your brush is super dirty – you haven’t had time to clean it for a while, I understand – then you’ll have to repeat this quite a few times as it is supposed to be used as a quick clean up between professional applications. Jane Iredale also has a brush shampoo and conditioner which has a soft lemony scent and uses soy protein and chamomile extract; you can use it if you love your brushes a ton.

Jane Iredale Botanical Brush Cleaner

MAC also provides a brush cleaner, but I am not one of those MAC loving girls. Sorry… Not really. I went through the ingredients to this cleaner and found that I didn’t even know let alone could pronounce half the ingredients in this list, and it had dyes in it which can be irritating to the skin. However, this product is very highly rated on its ability to clean brushes. One review says “I’ve never seen my brushes so white!” And I think that I can agree to you guys using this product because the alcohols in the product do mostly evaporate. I would just prefer if you used Jane…

I hope this was helpful!

xoxo

Jdal. 

6 thoughts on “How to Clean Your Makeup Brushes

  1. Great tips, thanks for sharing! I usually leave my brushes up right for drying, but I’ll try your rolled towel suggestion in the future. I also love the idea Jane Iredale Botanical Brush Cleaner. I’m a big fan of all natural ingredients, so this is good to know.

  2. Thanks for this post! Good stuff.
    Ive always used baby shampoo to clean my brushes and it always leaves them nice and soft. I tend not to you use my Paul Mitchell shampoo, especially since i always use the Clarifying one. IDK if its just me, but i feel like it leaves them a bit stiff…maybe its the formula?

    I followed your blog 🙂 itd be great if you could check out mine! Chromamesilly.wordpress.com

    • You may want to make sure that your shampoo is A. not expired or B. fully rinsed out of the bristles. I use Paul Mitchell Tea Tree shampoo and my brushes turn out super duper soft afterwards. Just double check that you’re rinsing very well, however it could be the formula of the shampoo you’re right!
      Thanks for following I’ll go check out your blog for sure!
      xoxo
      Jdal.

  3. I recently came across your website and have been reading a lot of posts of yours. I just thought I’d add a quick comment and let you know that you’ve got a really nice blog. I’ll watch out for updates from you!

  4. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually understand what you are speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my site =). We may have a hyperlink alternate agreement among us

Leave a Reply

