Why I Hate Oil of Olay

Hey guys this is going to be my first video post! I’ll explain why there is a link instead of an actual video on my blog in the video. Let me know how you guys like it!

Click Here to Watch!

Just in case it doesn’t load or you would rather read I’ll keep a blogged copy as well:

 

Today I’m going to go over something that drives me absolutely insane. When I’m at work doing facials I like to see what products people are using at home and I find around 80% of my clientele say “Oil of Olay”. So I’m sitting here thinking, what is this crap and why do I not know what it is?! I know in my mind that it is crap because none of these women have nice skin. So I decided to get my research on. I didn’t realize until I looked it up that this is actually the product line – it’s old name or new name or something – not just a product of olay.. My bad.

First thing I wanted to look at is why people like it so much; so I decided to go undercover as someone who would possibly be interested and look at it from a customer’s point of view – how do they get sucked in?  So Olay has this promise that they have safe products that will give you an excellent experience. Sounds good I don’t want something dangerous on my face. These products are directed at an aging audience which has a huge client base as no one wants to be aging, and as soon as they start to they want a way out. All these products are said to give you youthful, healthy-looking and beautiful skin – words taken directly from their website. They are said to nourish your skin with essential vitamins and extracts while giving you UVA and UVB protection. They’re lightweight, intense and replenishing with effects that last all day long. I don’t know about you but I’m feeling pretty sucked in right now.

So let’s get the facts behind the fiction now. If all this is true then I wouldn’t have clients coming to me with dry and aged skin who aren’t happy with how the product is working. And for fricks sake don’t tell me that “my skin is just getting used to it, it takes a while.” It doesn’t take that long to work if it’s supposed to be so damn great! It should have results within a month!

First thing I’m going to point out is the amount of preservatives in these products – methylparaben, ethylparaben, and propylparaben stick out like sore thumbs for me; all three are drying preservatives that can cause skin irritation and allergic reactions. Next I’m going to point out that there is behenyl alcohol, cetearyl alcohol, cetyl alcohol and benzyl alcohol. I shouldn’t have to say that alcohol is drying because you should know by now. Not only are these products drying but benzyl alcohol has also been proven to be toxic to the nervous system. Awesome.

Lastly, and I struggle saying this one so bare with me, Io-doe-pro-pynyl Bute-yl-carbamate has been prohibited in cosmetics in the European Union because of its link to cancer, allergies, immunotoxicity, irritation to the skin, organ system toxicity, endocrine disruption – which is the system with all your hormones – and links to chronic nerve degeneration diseases.

Well that sounds like a lot of fun; I really want to go buy me some of that.. Anyways, I hope you throw that shit in the trash!

xoxo

Jdal. 

Leave a Reply

