Beauty tips from Ancient Egypt

I put up a video for this one so you could check that out by clicking the link below

Click Me!

If you don’t want to watch the video and would rather read then just continue reading!

I’m pretty excited because this is the kickstart to a new segment where I’m going to go over beauty secrets from around the world and they’ll be inspired by either a place or a famous person throughout history. So this is kinda my thing, I’m a bit of a nerd when it comes to history – I just love it.

Anyways I thought who better to start with than Cleopatra – one of the most legendary beauty goddesses. She is well known as a woman of power and beauty, and everyone wants to know how did she do it before all the products we have now-a-days? Obviously there’s a way to keep our skin and ourselves looking as wonderful as this bronzed queen.

Here are a few secrets from the Queen of the Nile.

Let’s start with Cleo’s skin. She was known to bathe in milk and honey, which even in the ancient Egyptian days people knew the benefits of this. Run yourself a nice warm bath and put in two cups of whole milk or a cup of milk powder and a splash of honey to the water. The milk has lactic acid which helps to lightly exfoliate and nourish your skin – allowing it to hold its own hydration. The honey is a natural humectant which moisturizes the skin. So you’re removing the rough layer of dead skin, hydrating, and nourishing the skin all in one relaxing bath.

Another beauty secret of this ancient civilization is reportedly a mixture of oil and lime. There was apparently jars of the stuff which was thought to be used as a cleansing cream. The oil would be hydrating (obviously, try using a lighter oil like grapeseed) and lime would be a natural exfoliant, therefore removing dead skin cells and impurities while keeping the skin well hydrated.

A big thing for Egyptians was sea salt, especially found from the Dead Sea. This was a prized product for the Egyptian women. They used this in body scrubs, facial scrubs, baths, you name it. You can use it in a scrub (click for my DIY salt scrub) or you could add some sea salts to your bath to reduce stress – this is a process called talassotherapy which means “The use of sea water in cosmetic or health treatments.” The sea salt bath provides psychological benefits that may help to improve sleep quality – apparently… The sea salts also work as a natural detoxifier as it absorbs toxins from your skin. And again, this is sea salt not table salt.

As for cosmetics, when you think Egyptian I know you think of the eyes immediately, at least I do. The black kohl lined almond shaped eyes are an Egyptian trademark. So try out those big Egyptian cat eyes with a liner pencil or crème to powder shadow liner and pull the liner a bit further than your eye. The Egyptian’s did love their cats, and apparently wanted to look like them too.

Lastly I’m going to go over a remedy for aging that the ancient Egyptians used. The ingredients aren’t really something you’ll have kicking around, but you may like to try it or know anyways. Egyptian women mixed together 1 part gum of frankincense, 1 part wax, 1 part moringa oil (it’s a very sweet, floral smelling oil derived from the moringa flower) and 1 part cyperus grass. When I think about mixing this all together I feel like I’m making a potion. As far as I have seen, the important part of this remedy is the frankincense which is supposed to be the key ingredient in this solution, it is also reported to be effective for diminishing scars. Reading through a source about this they said that you only really need to mix together an oil – like sweet almond oil or olive oil and mix in some frankincense oil and apply to the skin. I am not sure how well this works this is just what I was told.

So that’s the tips of the beautiful ancient Egyptians. Until next time ladies!

xoxo

Jdal.

PS. Let me know if you have any questions or requests for posts, I’m always looking for new ideas and I love answering your questions!

10 thoughts on “Beauty tips from Ancient Egypt

  1. Very nice post! I keep sea salt around for my piercings and never thought about to use it to create a scrub! I think I’m going to try it out when I get home

  2. hi… i didn’t agree with some of the things, however i did enjoyed the article in general… the post was actually suggested to me by a good friend at myspace and he was right. really good read! Take care.

  3. You are in reality a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Also, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a great activity on this subject!

Leave a Reply

