Coconut Oil

I know I haven’t posted in a little bit, but I’ve just finished a big move! From BC to Alberta, so of course my skin has become dry, it’s just gotta happen when you live here. So what am I going to do about my dry skin problem? Well I’ll let you know; Coconut oil.

Wtf you say? Well let me explain. I have put in many posts before that my skin specifically is prone to breakouts and many of you are thinking “well then why the hell would you put an oil on your face?!” Well calm your pants and let me explain.

Most people with acne prone skin are actually dehydrated and their skin produces extra oils to overcompensate for the dehydration which causes breakouts. If you want to know how to determine your skin type just click here to read my post on that. So lets get into specifics about coconut oil and why that oil is better than others.

The number one reason that coconut oil is better than other oils for your skin is “lauric acid”. This gives coconut oil anti-bacterial, anti-microbial, anti-fungal, anti-viral, anti-carcinogenic properties, so it’s actually fantastic for broken out skin, however it will work for dry skin as well. All of these properties will help to kill bacteria in the skin which causes breakouts thus leaving breakout prone skin happier.

Another plus that coconut oil has is it’s saturated fat content. The fats in coconut oil will not only leave your skin feeling soft and supple, but will also help to hold in hydration to KEEP your skin feeling that way.

Coconut oil also contains proteins, which help to keep the skin healthy and plumped.

Lastly coconut oil has vitamin E in it, one of the better vitamins for your skin. Vitamin E does so many beneficial things for the skin including anti-aging. Vitamin E is essential in skin growth and repair as it assists in the natural exfoliation process.

As a bonus, coconut oil works very well as a hair conditioner too!

So all in all, coconut oil can be used on dry or combination skin to deeply hydrate while lightly and naturally exfoliating (lightly means you can use it daily rather than only twice a week) and keeping the skin bacteria free. Let me know if you try it and like it!

xoxo

Jdal. 

 

Ps. Vote for my friend’s friends art! Hahaha just click here and like it!

One thought on “Coconut Oil

  1. I believe in you. I know that using coconut oil as a moisturizer is not a joke at all. I know this because I’ve been using it for so many years now as my skin and hair moisturizer. I also use it as my makeup remover. Natural yet very effective.

Leave a Reply

